all lessons are dead until lived

by speakyoheartup

BY STEPHANIE SANTOS

 

After the familiar door shuts behind

the world becomes the primary teacher.

Welcome to life!

 

What’s been taught thus far fills up the carry on I carry in

my mind and heart.

Lessons learned get pulled out as circumstances call me to respond.

Passivity is not an option as I set forth to explore above

& beyond these paths presented before me.

They are not all pleasant

they are not all fun but they are each vital for this legacy that’s begun.

 

I won’t become apathetic when tragedy strikes

I’ll let my eyes cry.

I won’t play down victories conquered

I’ll let my mouth sing and smile.

I’ll keep my presence in the ‘right here’

my gaze on the tomorrow

and I’ll only look back to remember how far I’ve come

 

and how well taught I was

behind that familiar door.